USDT Earn Conditions Explained: Rate Tiers, New User Rates, Redemption Limits and Where the Interest Comes From
USDT earn APRs: high rates often cover only the first 100 to 500 USDT, new user rates have caps and time limits, and early redemption can forfeit interest.
On this page
- 1.Break a USDT earn APR down into five conditions
- 2.Rate tiers: the high rate covers only the first 100 to 500 USDT
- 3.New user rates: capped and time-limited
- 4.Flexible and fixed-term: how fast you can redeem, and what taking money back early costs
- 4.1The cost of redeeming a Binance fixed-term product early
- 4.2Fixed-term rates are locked in when you subscribe
- 4.3“Redeem at any time” has exceptions for flexible products too
- 5.Where the rate comes from: lending interest, earn strategies, or the exchange itself
- 5.1Lending interest: the rate follows borrowing demand
- 5.2Platform rewards: the high-rate tier may be added by the exchange itself
- 5.3What the official pages I checked do not say
- 6.USDT earn risks: what “principal protected” actually protects
- 7.Five steps for assessing a USDT earn product
- 8.Invitation codes for each exchange
- FAQ
Disclosure: this page contains exchange invitation links and codes. If you sign up through them, the exchange may pay Jason Finance a referral commission. It does not raise the fees you pay; the invitation fee rebate is set by the exchange. Our ratings follow the published methodology, where the invitation rebate counts only toward the fees item.
Exchange USDT earn pages usually put the highest APR in the most prominent spot. What actually decides how much you get, and whether you can take your money back at any time, is the set of conditions next to it: how many USDT the rate covers, whether it is only for new users, whether the product is flexible or fixed-term, what it costs to take the money back early, and where the interest actually comes from.
The short version: based on the official guides from OKX, Bybit, Binance and Bitget that I checked on 17 October 2026, the high USDT earn rates mostly cover only the first 100 to 500 USDT, or go only to new users for a limited time. With 10,000 USDT, Bybit’s flexible product has an overall APR of about 2.01%, not the 6.96% on the page. The exchanges all say flexible products can be redeemed at any time, but OKX and Binance state that redemptions may be restricted or delayed when the funds are fully lent out or many users redeem at once. Fixed-term products depend on the product, and early redemption of a Binance fixed-term product forfeits the accrued interest. As for where the interest comes from, OKX and Binance say it is interest paid by margin and loan users; two exchanges’ flexible product guides do not say.
This article is a summary of information and is not investment advice. Rates, tiers, eligibility and product rules all change. The figures here are snapshots of official pages or official APIs on the dates shown, not guaranteed returns; check what the exchange shows at the time before you use any product.
Break a USDT earn APR down into five conditions
When I see a USDT earn APR, I first break it down into the five questions below before deciding whether it is worth comparing:
| Condition | Question to ask | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Rate tiers | How many USDT does this APR cover? What is the rate on the rest? | The high-rate tier is usually only the first few hundred USDT, so the larger the amount, the closer you get to the second tier |
| New user rate | Who qualifies, up to how many USDT, and for how long? | Once the period ends or you exceed the cap, you are back on the regular rate |
| Flexible or fixed-term | Can you redeem at any time? How long until the funds arrive? | Fixed-term products have a lock-up period, and taking the money back early may cost you |
| Platform cut | Is the displayed rate before or after fees? | With the same lending rate, a different cut means you receive a different amount |
| Yield source | Who pays the interest? | It decides when the rate will drop and when redemptions will get stuck |
I have covered each exchange’s feature for putting idle funds to work “automatically”, whether you can trade with those funds directly, and when interest is calculated, in “Exchange auto earn compared”. This article looks only at the conditions of the earn products themselves.
Handy tool
Want to see today's tiered rates, new user rates and after-cut APRs for flexible USDT at each exchange? The rate comparison table is updated daily, and every row shows the date checked and the source.
See today's ratesRate tiers: the high rate covers only the first 100 to 500 USDT
Most flexible USDT products use tiered rates: the first part of the amount earns a high rate, and anything above it earns a much lower one. According to Bybit’s official Earn API, on 17 October 2026 flexible USDT in Easy Earn paid:
- First 100 USDT: 6.96%
- The part above 100 USDT: 1.96%
With 10,000 USDT, the overall APR is (100 × 6.96% + 9,900 × 1.96%) ÷ 10,000, about 2.01%, or about 201 USDT a year. However much you deposit, the extra 5 percentage points on the first 100 USDT add at most 5 USDT a year.
The tier thresholds themselves change too. The same API showed a first tier of the first 200 USDT at 6.91% on 12 October 2026 (see “Exchange auto earn compared”), and by 17 October it had become the first 100 USDT. So when I compare, I look at only two things: the second-tier rate and whether there is a cap on the balance that earns interest. For example, according to the official announcement of 1 October 2025, WEEX Auto Earn pays interest on at most 100,000 USDT, and anything above that earns nothing. For each exchange’s actual overall APR on 1,000, 10,000 and 100,000 USDT, see the calculation table in “Exchange auto earn compared”.
Binance does it a little differently. According to the Binance flexible products guide (updated 29 September 2026), flexible products have two parts:
- Real-Time APR: applies to the whole subscribed amount, may change every minute and accrues every minute.
- Bonus Tiered APR: offered only on some products, tiered by amount and may change daily. It is calculated from a snapshot of your holdings at a random time the previous day, starts accruing the day after you subscribe, and the part you redeem on a given day does not count for that day.
New user rates: capped and time-limited
Many of the especially high numbers on these pages are for new users only. Two examples:
- OKX Simple Earn: the 10% on the page on 7 October 2026 was exclusive to new users, limited to 500 USDT and 180 days, and anything above 500 USDT got the regular rate (see the “OKX review”). Using the 2.78% lending APR from 12 October, this reward adds at most about 17.8 USDT.
- WEEX Auto Earn: according to the official announcement, the new user rate applies only if you turn it on within 7 days of completing verification: 100% on up to 100 USDT and 3.5% on 100 to 100,000 USDT. If you turn it on after 7 days, the regular rates apply.
When I look at a new user rate, I work out the most it can add with “cap × (new user rate − regular rate) × days ÷ 365”. The result is usually somewhere between ten and a few dozen USDT. That makes it a small reward for trying the product, not a basis for judging the product’s long-term yield.
Flexible and fixed-term: how fast you can redeem, and what taking money back early costs
The biggest difference between flexible and fixed-term products is whether you can take your money back at any time. The table below is based on the official guides I checked on 17 October 2026:
| Exchange | Flexible redemption | Fixed-term maturity | Can fixed-term be redeemed early? |
|---|---|---|---|
| OKX Simple Earn | Subscribe and redeem at any time; funds return to the account instantly | Can be redeemed only after the lock-up period ends | No (the FAQ says redemption is possible only after the lock-up period ends) |
| Bybit Easy Earn | Redeem at any time; principal can go back to the Unified Trading Account or the funding account, your choice | Principal and interest paid to the funding account at 00:30 (UTC) on the maturity date | Not stated in the FAQ |
| Binance Simple Earn | Funds return to the spot account immediately after you submit, but there is a daily redemption quota | Auto-subscribe can be turned on; only the original principal is renewed, and interest goes to the spot account | Some products, with funds arriving within 72 hours; accrued interest is forfeited, and interest already paid is deducted from the principal |
| Bitget Simple Earn | Redeem at any time; funds return to the spot account immediately, with no penalty | Principal and interest return to the spot account automatically | Some products; a penalty may apply |
Sources: OKX Simple Earn FAQ (updated 27 August 2026), Bybit Easy Earn FAQ (updated 28 June 2026), Binance flexible products guide (updated 29 September 2026), Binance locked products guide (updated 6 February 2026), Bitget flexible and Bitget fixed-term (both published 2 May 2025), all checked on 17 October 2026.
The cost of redeeming a Binance fixed-term product early
Binance’s fixed-term guide is the most specific: early redemption returns the full balance minus the interest already paid, any interest accrued but not yet paid is also forfeited, the funds return to the spot account within 72 hours, and the redemption cannot be cancelled once confirmed. Free fixed-term products given out in promotions cannot be redeemed early. In other words, if you redeem early, you get none of the interest for that period.
If auto-subscribe is on at maturity, only the original principal is renewed for the same term, and the interest goes to the spot account. If the product’s quota is full, it is not renewed and the assets move into the flexible product for the same coin.
Fixed-term rates are locked in when you subscribe
Bybit says the APR and term of a fixed-term product are set when you subscribe and do not change afterwards, while flexible APRs float. Binance says its fixed-term APRs are set by Binance and may be adjusted daily, except for Fixed Rate products, where an adjustment affects only new subscriptions. Bitget fixed-term products start earning interest the day after you subscribe (D+1), and you can choose daily payouts or a single payout at maturity.
“Redeem at any time” has exceptions for flexible products too
- OKX: in rare cases where a coin’s pool is fully lent out, redemptions of that coin may be restricted, including temporary limits or suspensions, with a review every hour.
- Binance: each flexible product has a daily redemption quota that may be adjusted at any time, and redemptions may be delayed during sharp market moves, network delays or when many users redeem at once. If the pool is short of liquidity, redemptions resume only once borrowers repay or new deposits come in, and Binance states that it is not responsible for losses caused by redemption delays.
Where the rate comes from: lending interest, earn strategies, or the exchange itself
Who pays the interest decides when the rate will drop. According to the official guides:
| Exchange | Product | Yield source stated by the exchange | Platform cut |
|---|---|---|---|
| OKX | Simple Earn | Interest on lent assets | Takes 15% of the interest; 85% goes to users |
| Binance | Simple Earn Flexible | Liquidity that subscribed assets provide to Binance’s businesses, including lending to other users through margin and loan products | Not stated in the guide |
| Bybit | Easy Earn fixed-term | Lending, earn strategies or fixed-term lending (存貸易) | No additional fees; the management fee is already reflected in the APR |
| Bybit | Easy Earn flexible | Not stated in the FAQ | Same as above |
| Bitget | Simple Earn flexible and fixed-term | Not stated in the guides | Not stated in the guides |
Sources as in the previous section, all checked on 17 October 2026.
Lending interest: the rate follows borrowing demand
Interest from lending to margin and loan users moves with demand for borrowing. Binance says a higher APR generally means a larger share of the pool has been lent out. My inference: when the rate is especially high is also when the pool is closest to being fully lent out and redemptions are most likely to be restricted.
Bitfinex lending also goes to margin traders, but there you set your own rate and term and deal directly with borrowers; the rules are in “How Bitfinex lending works”.
Platform rewards: the high-rate tier may be added by the exchange itself
The first tier of a tiered rate is not necessarily interest paid by the lending market. In its BYUSDT guide, Bybit splits the flexible APR into a “base APR” and a “platform reward APR”, and gives the example that when the platform reward APR is 6.3%, BYUSDT earns only the 1.3% base APR. New user rates fall into this category too. Rewards an exchange pays out itself can be adjusted or ended at any time, so they cannot be treated as long-term yield.
Another type is a reward for simply holding a stablecoin. For OKX’s USDG rewards, for example, the page states that the APR is set by OKX itself and is not paid by the issuer, Paxos; Binance’s BFUSD relies on funding rate hedging and staking yield. For these products’ yield sources, conversion fees and redemption terms, see “What is BFUSD?”.
What the official pages I checked do not say
None of these four exchanges’ USDT earn guides say the yield comes from US Treasuries, nor do they say it comes from on-chain staking or DeFi. If you want an option benchmarked to short-term US Treasuries that does not go through an exchange, such as a short-term Treasury ETF, see “Where to park idle USD and USDT”; the yield and risks of on-chain lending such as Aave are in the same article.
USDT earn risks: what “principal protected” actually protects
- What is protected is the number of tokens: Bybit says both its flexible and fixed-term products protect principal, but what is protected is the number of tokens, and their value in fiat moves with the market price. For price deviations between USDT itself and the US dollar, see “USDT depeg history”.
- Borrower default and extreme markets: the risks listed in Binance’s flexible product guide include borrower default, insufficient liquidity for redemptions, and possible partial or total loss under special circumstances in extreme market conditions. It also states that the APR is an estimate, adjusted daily, and may differ from the actual yield.
- Restricted redemptions: see “‘Redeem at any time’ has exceptions for flexible products too” above. During the lock-up period you cannot take fixed-term funds back at all, or you have to pay the cost of early redemption.
- The exchange itself: earn assets still sit on the exchange, so they are affected if the exchange runs into trouble. For how much users got back after past exchange failures, see the “Centralized exchange incident timeline”; for how to check reserves, see “How to check proof of reserves”.
Five steps for assessing a USDT earn product
- Find the second-tier rate and the cap: if you are depositing more than a few hundred USDT, estimate with the second-tier rate, not the biggest number on the page.
- Convert the new user rate into USDT: use the cap, the rate difference and the number of days to work out the most it can add.
- Check the redemption rules: for flexible products, whether there is a daily quota; for fixed-term products, whether early redemption is allowed, whether it forfeits interest or carries a penalty, and how long the funds take to arrive.
- Check whether the rate is before or after fees: OKX openly takes 15%, and Bybit says the fee is already reflected in the APR. When you cannot find this for other exchanges, go by what is actually credited to your account.
- Find the yield source: when an exchange’s official guide cannot say where the interest comes from, I count that against it in a comparison.
I am VIP 1 at OKX myself. I turned on Auto Earn+ for USDT on 21 August 2026, and by 7 October it had earned about 317 USDT in total; the screenshot is in the “OKX review”. For me, the advantage is not having to move money between the trading account and the earn account.
Invitation codes for each exchange
Below are the invitation codes for the international exchanges mentioned in this article. Signing up with an invitation code gets you the exchange’s official fee rebate; the percentage is as shown in each box. The fee rebate and the earn rate are two separate things, so compare the earn rules and security against the conditions above before deciding whether to sign up.
More exchange reviews and comparisons are on the crypto topic page.
FAQ
Why can't I actually get the high APR shown on a USDT earn page?
Because that is usually the first tier of a tiered rate or a new user rate. On 17 October 2026, Bybit's flexible USDT paid 6.96% on the first 100 USDT and 1.96% on the rest, so 10,000 USDT earned an overall APR of about 2.01%.
Can I redeem flexible USDT earn products at any time?
The official guides all say you can redeem at any time, but there are exceptions. OKX says that when a coin's pool is fully lent out, redemptions may be temporarily restricted; Binance says each flexible product has a daily redemption quota, and redemptions may be delayed during sharp market moves or when many users redeem at once.
Can I redeem fixed-term USDT earn products early?
It depends on the exchange and the product. OKX fixed-term products can be redeemed only after the lock-up period ends. Some Binance fixed-term products can be redeemed early, but accrued interest is forfeited, interest already paid is deducted from the principal, and the funds arrive within 72 hours. Some Bitget fixed-term products can be redeemed early, possibly with a penalty. Bybit's FAQ does not say whether fixed-term products can be redeemed early.
Where does the interest on exchange USDT earn products come from?
OKX's and Binance's flexible product guides say it is interest from lending assets to margin and loan users; for its fixed-term products, Bybit lists lending, earn strategies and fixed-term lending. The guides for Bybit's flexible products and Bitget's flexible and fixed-term products do not say where the yield comes from.
Do exchanges take a cut of USDT earn interest?
OKX Simple Earn openly takes 15% of the interest and passes 85% to users; Bybit says there are no additional fees and the management fee is already reflected in the displayed APR.
Can I lose money on USDT earn products?
Bybit says both its flexible and fixed-term products protect principal, but what is protected is the number of tokens. Binance's flexible product guide lists the risks of borrower default, insufficient liquidity for redemptions, and possible partial or total loss in extreme market conditions. The assets sit on the exchange, so they are affected if the exchange itself runs into trouble.
Related articles
- How Does Bitfinex Lending Work? Offers, the FRR Rate, 2 to 120 Day Terms, Auto-Renew, the 15% Fee and the RisksBitfinex lending: post a rate, a 2 to 120 day term and an amount; interest starts only once a margin trader borrows it, and Bitfinex takes 15% of the interest.
- USDT Depeg History and How to Read Tether's Reserve Reports: Price Deviations From 2017 to 2023, Reserve Mix and AttestationsUSDT depeg history: all 124 days below US$0.99 were in 2017 to 2019; the low since 2020 is about 0.995. Reading Tether reserve reports, attestation vs audit.
- What Is BFUSD? BYUSDT, LDUSDT, BGUSD and Other Yield-Bearing Exchange Margin Assets: Where the Yield Comes From, Conversion Fees and RisksWhat is BFUSD? Official rules for BFUSD, LDUSDT, BYUSDT, BGUSD and OKX USDG rewards: yield source, margin modes, collateral ratios, fees, redemption limits.

Jason
Account Manager in Google Large Customer Sales and Columbia MBA admit, sharing the money tools and experience he actually uses.
Comments
Sign in with Google to comment. Your comment will not show your Google profile picture or name; it appears under a randomly generated nickname to protect your privacy.
By signing in you agree to this site's privacy policy.